Home is were the (He)Art is

The artists of our neighbourhood in Ubud

Following my heart, today my artist friend, Dewa, and I visited a exposition in Museum Puri Lukisan, in Jl.Raya Ubud, to see art expressions of a artists community of our neighbourhood, Padangtegal. It brought me to tears.

20160713_122503

I have met several of these people without knowing they are such rich artists, their work expressing deep love for the journeys of people, while continuing the rich tradition of Balinese art.

The visit was a spritual event, with the explanations of Balinese Hindu understandings of live by Dewa. His words a reminder of the bracelet of Dewi Sariswati, that life is a continium of learning and understanding.

From this beautiful exposition I love to share 2 paintings and my understanding of their meaning:

20160713_112808
KASIH SAYAN, by I Wayan Wartama, Love and Respect everything, not only people but all species

 

20160713_114853
Panen, harvest or LIFE IS FREE, by I Nyoman Darmayasa

Padangtegal

These artists live in Padangtegal, in streets many of us pass daily like Jl. Jembawan and Jl. Goutama. Learning from the staff of Museum Puri Lukisan that Pedangtegal is the area of Ubud with the longest tradition of artists. What a blessed day.

Leave a Reply

